Derecho Tax Relief

The IRS recently issued Notice 2020-190 announcing tax deadline relief for certain Iowans that were victims of the August 10th derecho. Individuals and businesses that reside in the Benton, Boone, Cedar, Jasper, Linn, Marshall, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Story, and Tama counties qualify for this tax relief. However, if any further counties are added to this disaster declaration, they will automatically qualify for the same relief as these eleven counties. This tax deadline relief postpones various filing and payment deadlines starting on August 10, 2020.

Notice 2020-190 provided these specific examples of payment and tax return deadline relief:

As of now, the State of Iowa has not adjusted due dates for these filing and payment deadlines. Due to this, our team will continue to process tax returns in the effort to meet the normal federal deadlines. Please reach out to your engagement team if you would like to delay filing or payment due to the hardship.