Our People

With McGowen Hurst Clark Smith you get a team of outstanding professionals including CPA’s, accountants, and consultants. Our mix of professional staff tends to have a higher percentage of shareholders, directors, managers and other senior associates than many other firms. This mix allows us to assign experienced personnel to our engagements, with the added benefit of reduced turnover. We choose to focus in our local communities because we take great pride in serving the people in our communities. Our dedication to service not only fosters professional excellence, but also encourages personal growth in each team member while providing our clients with thought leadership and depth of expertise.

Our connectivity is growing with two offices in Iowa located in West Des Moines and Winterset along with team members working outside of Iowa. MHCS is one of the oldest and largest local firms in Central Iowa founded in 1946. We celebrate over 70 years of providing our clients with tax and accounting, auditing, and business advisory and consulting expertise. Over the years, our firm has grown from 2 to 78 employees, making us large enough to provide our clients with a broad base of experience and resources, yet small enough to offer very personalized service --which sets us apart from other CPA firms. We enjoy working together. We are one firm – one family.

Meet our leadership team. We look forward to getting to know you!

Dan Schwarz, CPA/ABV

Managing Shareholder

DSchwarz@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Dave Farnsworth, CPA

Managing Shareholder

DFarnsworth@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Kathi Koenig, CPA

Shareholder

KKoenig@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Jim Smith, CPA

Shareholder

JSmith@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

John Schmidt, CPA

Shareholder

JSchmidt@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Mike Brinker, CPA

Shareholder

MBrinker@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Brian Newton, CPA

Shareholder

BNewton@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Wendy Moran, CPA

Assurance Department Director

WMoran@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Jenny Smith, CPA

Assurance Director

JlSmith@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Nate Beck, CPA

Tax Director

NBeck@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Nick Finkenauer, CPA

Tax Director

NFinkenauer@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Sean Larson, CPA

Tax Director

SLarson@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Jeff Dick, CPA

Tax Director

JDick@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Kristin Clayton, CPA

Senior Manager

KClayton@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Ashley Mowery, CPA

Senior Manager

AMowery@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Gina David

Director of Marketing

GDavid@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Cindy Wubben

Director of Human Resources

CWubben@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio

Cindy Klaassen

Office Administrator

CKlaassen@MHCScpa.com

Read Bio